Minutes of the Regular meeting of the Community Safety Advisory Committee held in the Board Room, 175 Ingram Street, Duncan BC, on Thursday, November 1, 2012 at 9:06 am.

PRESENT: Director Lori Iannidinardo (Chair)

Councillor Jill Dashwood, Town of Ladysmith Councillor Michelle Bell, City of Duncan <9:15 am> Councillor John Koury, District of North Cowichan

Councillor Chip Seymour, Cowichan Tribes

Carol-Ann Rolls, Community Policing

Constable Kelly Rydholm, RCMP, Duncan/North Cowichan Theresa Gerritsen, Cowichan Women Against Violence

Society – CWAV (Safer Futures)

Dr. Frank Groenewold, Citizen Advisory Committee to the

Correctional Service of Canada

Terri Dame, Cowichan Women Against Violence Society –

CWAV (Safer Futures)

ABSENT: Director Barb Lines (Vice-Chair)

Linden Collette, Social Planning Cowichan

Councillor Jayne Ingram, Town of Lake Cowichan

Cheryl Stone, Community Options Society Jim Harnden, Cowichan Independent Living Zoe Sorenson, Youth Representative

Thanya Al-Saadoon, Cowichan Women Against Violence

Society – CWAV (Safer Futures)

ALSO

PRESENT: Joe Barry, Corporate Secretary, CVRD

Tara Daly, Recording Secretary

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

It was moved and seconded that the agenda be approved.

MOTION CARRIED

ADOPTION OF MINUTES

M1 It was moved and seconded that the minutes of the Regular

meeting of the Community Safety Advisory Committee, held

September 5, 2012, be adopted.

MOTION CARRIED

REPORTS/CORRESPONDENCE

R1 Letter from Pam Alcorn, Coordinator, Duncan Advisory Committee on

Seniors' Issues was received for information.

R2 The Report from Safer Futures/CWAV Society re: Draft Report on

Cowichan Valley Youth Safety Dialogues was received for consideration.

It was moved and seconded that it be recommended to the Board that a Regional Youth Strategy be developed.

MOTION CARRIED

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

UB1

Staff Report from Corporate Secretary, dated September 5, 2012, and information presented by the Sub-committee on Membership was received for consideration.

It was determined the commission would be represented by eight political bodies (Cowichan Tribes, City of Duncan, Town of Lake Cowichan, Town of Ladysmith, District of North Cowichan, two Electoral Area Directors, and School District #79); four organizations (RCMP, Community Policing, Social Planning, Corrections Canada Parole Board) and three members of the public (selected through advertising).

It was moved and seconded that it be recommended to the Board that "Bylaw No. 3622 – Community Safety Advisory Commission Establishment Bylaw, 2012" be considered for three readings and adoption.

MOTION CARRIED

ADJOURNMENT

11:12 am

It was moved and seconded that the meeting be adjourned.

MOTION CARRIED

The meeting adjourned at 11:12 am.	
Chairperson	Recording Secretary
	Dated: